DesignsWeLove – Contemporary furniture design, Interior design, Architecture and Style - Covering contemporary furniture, interiors, architecture and life and style every weekday. Get inspired by the designs we love.

Finalists Announced for EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture

The six finalists for the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – the Mies van der Rohe Award – have been announced. These finalists were selected from more than 300 works in 33 European countries. Check them out.

Neues Museum Berlin, Germany
David Chipperfield Architects / David Chipperfield
Neues Museum Berlin

Bronks Youth Theatre Brussels, Belgium
MDMA – Martine De Maeseneer Architecten / Martine De Maeseneer, Dirk Van den Brande
Bronks Youth Theatre Brussels Belgium

MAXXI: Museum of XXI Century Arts Rome, Italy
Zaha Hadid Architects / Zaha Hadid, Patrick Schumacher, Gianluca Racana
MAXXI Museum of XXI Century Arts Rome Italy

Concert House Danish Radio Copenhagen, Denmark
Ateliers Jean Nouvel / Jean Nouvel
Concert House Danish Radio Copenhagen Denmark

Acropolis Museum Athens, Greece
Bernard Tschumi Architects / Bernard Tschumi
Acropolis Museum Athens

Rehabilitation Centre Groot Klimmendaal Arnhem, The Netherlands
Architectenbureau Koen van Velsen / Koen van Velsen
Rehabilitation Centre Groot Klimmendaal Arnhem The Netherlands

This year’s jury include:
Mohsen Mostafavi, Chair of the jury/Dean, Graduate School of Design, Harvard University, Cambridge, USA; Ole Bouman, Director, Nederlands Architectuurinstituut, Rotterdam; Yvonne Farrell, Grafton Architects, Dublin; Annette Gigon, Gigon/Guyer, Zürich; Anne Lacaton, Lacaton& Vassal Architectes, Paris; Tarald Lundevall, Architect, SNØHETTA, Oslo; Pei Zhu, Beijing, China, and Lluís Hortet, Secretary of the jury/Director of the Fundació Mies van der Rohe.

The award ceremony will take place on June 20 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona, Spain.

Also check out the past winners. Some of these include:

Banco Borges e Irmão, Vila do Conde, Portugal by Álvaro Siza Vieira
Stansted Airport , London, United Kingdom by Norman Foster / Norman Foster + Partners
Bibliothèque nationale de France, Paris, France by Dominique Perrault
Kunsthaus Bregenz, Bregenz, Austria by Peter Zumthor
Kursaal Centre, San Sebastián, Spain by Rafael Moneo
Car Park and Terminus Hoenheim North, Strasbourg, France by Zaha Hadid / Zaha Hadid Architects
Netherlands Embassy Berlin, Germany by OMA / Rem Koolhaas, Ellen van Loon
Norwegian National Opera & Ballet, Oslo, Norway by SNØHETTA / Kjetil Trædal Thorsen, Tarald Lundevall, Craig Dykers

All images courtesy of the Mies van der Rohe Foundation. Photos are copyrights of their respective owners.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply